Foods and friends!

Oct - 25 2023 | By

This picture of my friend was taken at Greek Grill in Summit. This my friend drinking doctor pepper.

My friend Derek looking through his favorite donut.

Q1 How did you choose the specific types of food for each portrait? What is their significance? Explain – be specific!

I choose the donut because my friend told me it was his favorite food. Also, he is my actor and I wanted to meet his expectations and wants. Also, in the picture with my friend drinking, I really wanted that shot because it was at my favorite restaurant.

Q2 Consider the lighting in your photographs. What was the light source in each of your photos. What time of day? How did it affect the mood and atmosphere of the portraits? Explain – be specific!

The day at the restaurant I remember it being a chilly day. We wanted to stay inside that day when I thought it was a perfect time to snap the shot. I thought that the lighting in the restaurant was very very good and I had to get the shot. In the other one, it was a very foggy day. Almost the perfect day to try and get the shot I wanted. I got the shot I wanted and I felt really good about it.

Q3 Think about the composition of your photos. Name the composition technique you used for each photo. Why did you choose to crop your photos as shown? Be specific! (3 sentences min.)

In my picture with the donut I used ” Center the Dominate eye”. I used this one because he is looking through the donut so I wanted that to be the thing that everyone looks at. In my other picture I used ” rule of thirds”, I used this because my friend drinking his doctor pepper is the main thing I want all he viewers looking at.

Q4 How do the colors and color splash technique in your photographs contribute to the overall impact of the images? Why did you choose to mask the specific areas in color for each photo? Be specific!  (3 sentences min.)

The color techniques contribute very much to my overall impact in my photos. In my first photo I colored some areas where I wanted the viewer to look at some of the colors that make it POP. In my other one, I wanted to have that picture for awhile now, I wanted a pink one so I knew the color would pop and I am so happy how it came out.

Q5 Consider the technical aspects of your photography, such as focus (lens size 75-300(lg) or 18-35(reg), or iphone mode/focus), depth of field (blurry background), and exposure (value in PS adjustment of your black, grays, whites). How did you use these techniques to enhance your images? Be specific! (3 sentences min.)

I think the 18-35 (reg) is the best for this one. You can get the blurry background that you wanted. On my donut picture, I used the reg one. I really liked how the picture came out. In the other one, I used a reg camera on the iPhone. I got exactly want I was looking for in the photo too!

Q6 What advice would you give to next year’s students for shooting food portraits? Be specific! (3 sentences min.)

Something I would do is bring in a food that you really really like and you can image the shot. That is what I did and I am really really satisfied with the shot. Lastly, bring the food in, because you do not want to be that guy who does not have it.

 

Write you response




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar